Bonn Agreement MoU

The OSPAR Commission works jointly with other competent management authorities for the North-East Atlantic to counter marine pollution and deliver sustainable ocean management in a consensual and robust way. To further strengthen cooperation OSPAR agreed a Memorandum of Understanding with its sister Convention, the Bonn Agreement. The Memorandum was signed by Bonn Agreement Chair, Annika Wahlfried Wikingsson of the Swedish Coastguard, and by OSPAR Chair Richard Cronin of the Irish Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage.

The Bonn Agreement is the mechanism by which ten Governments, together with the European Union, cooperate in dealing with pollution of the North Sea by oil and other harmful substances.

Briefing note

Memorandum of Understanding text